The First Day of the Rest of My Life


Today I did something the rest of the world would consider utterly mundane and not worth mentioning in a blog.  I cleaned my bathrooms.  Why is this significant?  Well, I can’t really remember when the last time I cleaned them was.  Two days ago I processed 2 years of piled up mail.  I found lost car registrations, credit card replacements, and undeposited checks amongst various other fun things.

Hubby asked me what was motivating my bathroom cleaning today and I said “um, because they haven’t been cleaned in five years?”  That was a sarcastic reply.  Because the real reason was, my head is usually filled with the noise of the things I do to escape life.  Tai chi and meditating have been gradually replacing that noise with life itself.  It’s not a dramatic change I’m feeling at all.  It’s as though I’m waking up and looking around and thinking “ah, the bathrooms need cleaning.  ah, the piles of old mail should be sorted and bills should be getting paid”.  And cooking.  I’m going to learn to cook.

Today is the first day of the rest of my life.

 

The First Day of the Rest of My Life

2 thoughts on “The First Day of the Rest of My Life

Leave a Reply

