Daily Prompt: Long Forgotten History


Buyers, Beware?

Daily Prompt:  The year is 2214, and your computer’s dusty hard drive has just resurfaced at an antique store. Write a note to the curious buyer explaining what he or she will find there. (Thank you for suggesting a similar prompt, Auntysocial!)

Note taped to hard drive, dated November 3, 2014.

To whoever finds this hard drive:   If I’m lucky, technology will not have advanced to the point where whoever you are, you will easily be able to read the files I’ve permanently deleted.  If it has, I just have to say as disgusting as what’s there may seem, it really was a lot of fun.  Maybe those things will give you some ideas to try.  You might especially be interested in the chat logs and images with the titles starting with “World of Warcraft Fun in Goldshire”.

On the visible drive are photographs of the beautiful world that I live in.  Lawns are huge, hidden by trees that line the road, and conservation trails snake between the properties.  Those dogs you see are my surrogate children.

Oh, you’ll also see a folder called “My Cancer”.  If you’re lucky cancer won’t exist in your world.  In that folder is a story of the year I spent learning all about how to live with no breasts, hair, or reproductive organs.  Yes, those photos are me, naked and exposed — the series starts with me curled up as in a cocoon, and then gradually I open up into a butterfly, ending with me with my arms spread out, all my asexual, bald glory for all to see.  I created a race for myself and called it Nozzian.  In Nozz, bald was beautiful.  People drank red liquid that made them deathly ill.  But that was their only sustenance.  If Nozzians entered an establishment with non-Nozzians, they would be stared at and whispered about.

Oh, you might also be interested in photos under “Grandma”.  They are scans of my mother-in-law’s photos from the 1900’s.  Although if you don’t know the people… dunno, they might not interest you.

The rest of the photos you see will be mostly photos of the town that I live in, commissioned by my local paper, and some other photos from trips or photography classes.

That’s the most interesting of the junk on this hard drive.  The rest is random ramblings about my life, and pragmatic legal and financial stuff which, hopefully, by the time this is found will all be long forgotten history.

Daily Prompt: Long Forgotten History

Leave a Reply

