Daily Prompt: Handcrafted Gifts


By Hand
Daily Prompt: What’s the best present you’ve ever received that was handmade by the giver, not store-bought? Tell us what made it so special.

My aunt was a crafter.  She had 3 children, and when the kids were young, every time they gave gifts they were handcrafted things made by them.  The only thing I have now is a kitchen towel that wraps around the oven handle and buttons.  All the other store-bought ones I have slip off the handle onto the floor.  This one is my favorite by far.

This aunt is one of the generation of very ill people in my life currently.  I can’t remember when I received this hand towel, but I know I’ll never get another handcrafted gift from her or her children again.

The idea of handcrafting gifts is thoughtful.  I’ve stopped giving gifts for most anything including Christmas.  Why you ask?  I guess it’s just not a meaningful activity for me to wander the store aisles looking for something just to appease some sort of expectation that I must give a person a gift for a particular occasion.  I don’t like to be forced to do things that don’t make sense.  Gifts should be given anytime, when they’re driven by love, not by obligation and tedium.

I should think up some sort of craft.  I love the idea of creating something for someone where I’ve woven my love into it.  Then  it will be something that was meaningful to me to give.

Daily Prompt: Handcrafted Gifts

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Handcrafted Gifts

Leave a Reply

