Daily Prompt A Mutt from Anguilla with the Dedication of a Hero


Under the Snow
Daily Prompt:  You were caught in an avalanche. To be rescued, you need to make it through the night. What thought(s) would give you the strength to go through such a scary, dangerous situation?

Being buried alive under 6 feet of snow, body all twisted up with probably a broken bone or two would not be the best conditions for positive or heroic thoughts from me.  As silly as it sounds, the only life that would be seriously devastated by losing me would be my dog’s, so I supposed I’d have to force myself to live for him.  He always sleeps by my side when I’m meditating at home, so I’d try to meditate and pretend he’s lying by my side, warming me, snoring.

I once was hiking in a new part of the woods with him.  We ended up at an open field and I was very lost.  He was about 50 yards ahead of me, standing there looking at me.  I called him back to me so I could turn around and try to retrace our tracks back, and he refused to budge.  Finally, after a couple of minutes, I decided to follow him across the field to enter the path on the other side.  I followed him, taking left turns and right turns, and he lead us back to the car.

So it wouldn’t surprise me at all if this little mutt rescue from Anguilla would save my life if one day I were lost under the snow.

Daily Prompt A Mutt from Anguilla with the Dedication of a Hero

Leave a Reply

