Daily Prompt Blogging to Find Purpose


Winning Streak
Daily Prompt: What’s the longest stretch you’ve ever pulled off of posting daily to your blog? What did you learn about blogging through that achievement, and what made you break the streak?

In 2001 I was diagnosed with stage 3 breast cancer.  I started a blog as a way to bring purpose to my life — as a way to share my cancer experience with people.  I used LiveJournal at the time and found that it was a tremendous medium for connecting with a community of similar people going through life-threatening illnesses.  The support I received and was able to give others was a huge learning experience about the power of the Internet and writing.

After my treatments, I went back to work and found that my life issues were completely different, and I stopped blogging.  I pulled all of those entries out and printed it out thinking some day I’ll write a book about that experience, but the manuscript is buried away in a safe and will probably end up being amusement reading for someone long after I’m gone.

Now, 13 years later, I’m a retired cancer survivor and blogging in a new blog, again as a way to somehow connect to the world.  Cancer is still a huge part of my life, but so are the family and care issues of my mother and mother-in-law who are both near the end of their lives.  Depression and anxiety and my search for the meaning and purpose for my life drive this blog more than anything, I think.  Writing and taking photos and having people support me has been huge in encouraging me to explore myself through these mediums.

Daily Prompt Blogging to Find Purpose

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt Blogging to Find Purpose

  1. Purpose, you captured all I could ever want. A sense of not just getting through the day, but having purpose. Good luck with your older generation, that in itself can be an adventure. Talks with my 93 yr old aunt make for amusing time, dementia and all!

    Like

  2. Having been a nurse most of my life, I came to find many truisms and much insight -even and sometimes especially in the face of dementia. Our elderly hold as many answers as our youth hold questions. They’re a treasure and like a willow have gone through enough storms, loves, and losses to gently take us by the hand and show us a universe only they can see as only they have lived.I am enjoying your blog-and reading of your life’s journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

