Daily Prompt Let’s Skip Christmas This Year


Ready, Set, Done!

Daily Prompt: As it’s been a while since our last free-write… set a timer for ten minutes. Write without pause (and no edits!) until you’re out of time. Then, publish what you have (it’s your call whether or not to give the post a once-over).

It’s been raining for 3 or 4 straight days now.  I watched a flood build up in my front yard that threatened to drown out my driveway the other day.  This morning I looked out my window and thought, “No rain!  Yay, I can finally take my camera out!”  Now I look out my window and see that flakes of snow are floating down outside of my window.

We never really had fall here, and we often don’t get spring here in New England.  We get winter and then a few months of summer, and a few days of fall, and then it’s back to winter.

This year I’m bound and determined to go outside as much as I get and not get the Winter blues.  It’s already bad enough Christmas is coming.  The holiday season is a really horrible time for me.  Very stressful, and watching the world around me turn materialistic is something that’s not in my realm of understanding.

One Thanksgiving I went to a meditation center and did a silent meditation.  It was sweet, though I was recovering from diverticulitis and was so very sick.  But the thought of being around people who were thinking about Thanksgiving as being a moment of silence and not gluttony and drinking was really a nice experience.

I wish we could take Christmas and do something similar. Keep the spirit of Christmas and take away the gluttony, family feuds, stress, and gift giving.  I’d rather have Christmas be something like one huge crafting, where we get together and craft gifts for each other.  Every year it would be a different craft.

I tried doing that one year.  I gave everyone a roll of yarn and knitting needles and a couple of other doo-dads in a bag with instructions on how to knit a square.  I never saw anyone do anything with their kits, so they must have all ended up in the back of people’s closets until they got tossed.

But wouldn’t Christmas be sweet if it were something deeper than it currently is?  I mean, for Christians it’s a very meaningful period.  But Christmas really is not about being a Christian.  It’s about remembering each other and affirming our existence in this world.  The way it is now, I just want to crawl under my blanket and sleep, and wake up January 2nd.

Daily Prompt Let’s Skip Christmas This Year

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt Let’s Skip Christmas This Year

Leave a Reply

