A Winter Moment of Serenity


_KAT7240_edited-1

In lieu of doing the Daily Prompt today, I will share a photo from yesterday.  The serenity in the woods feels like I’m one with Mother Earth.  This water, these rocks and trees and birds live here every single day whether I’m here or not.

What secrets do they hold, I wonder?  What do they tell each other when no one else is around?  When I hike these woods, I feel like I’m the visitor in their home.

Thousands of years ago, I would know these plants and streams intimately and would be living in community with them, being one of them and not a stranger.  Then I would know their secrets.

But now, in our pompousness, we are overrunning the world and these places are disappearing.  In our world,  the strongest and technologically superior wins.  We’re battling life that has no interest in fighting back, and we’re winning.  What will we be when this is all gone?

A Winter Moment of Serenity

5 thoughts on “A Winter Moment of Serenity

  1. Quite a few things about this little piece that i loved…. putting them down here…
    “This water, these rocks and trees and birds live here every single day whether I’m here or not.”
    “We’re battling life that has no interest in fighting back…”
    These were very pretty observations…. and nature makes us HAVE these observations, i suppose…. 🙂

    Like

  2. I was chatting with a friend today about what the world would be like in the near future and it was not an optimistic one based on the current trends socially, environmentally and politically… practically everything then 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

