Daily Prompt High


Happy Happy Joy Joy

Daily Prompt:  We cry for lots of reasons: sadness, pain, fear . . . and happiness. When was the last time you shed tears of joy?

The other day I shed mirthful tears.  I was watching a Netflix movie while high.  Now, sometimes you can get so high you can’t distinguish something that’s funny from something that’s serious drama.  I’m typically a stoic person and don’t shed tears for anything.  I rarely watch comedy because I just don’t find silliness very funny.  Pot is putting laughter back in my life, which is an amazingly joyful feeling.  But what movie was it?  Let me search my Netflix to see if I can figure it out.

I believe the movie was Route 9.  I watched it thinking it was some remake of the old Route 99 TV series (or was it 77 Sunset Strip, I forget.  Ancient TV shows).  But it was very different.  Very entertaining movie.  I’ll have to watch it straight someday and see if it’s as entertaining.

I’m discovering that the best movies (other than horror, of course) are in the independent category.  Somehow major movie companies are cranking out more movies with seemingly less substance.  It’s as though they are putting all of their money into the technology and almost no thought into proper casting or script.  Horror is pretty bad, but it’s unpretentious in its goals which makes it appealing to me.  I know, I’m different.

Daily Prompt High

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt High

Leave a Reply

