Daily Prompt Dear Pup


Audience of One

Daily Post:  Picture the one person in the world you really wish were reading your blog. Write her or him a letter.

Dear Pup:

Mummy loves you so much, and I know that you know that.  Last night when I forced you to sleep with Daddy, it was because I didn’t want you jumping on and off of Mummy’s bed and making your leg worse.  I need to get some sort of stepping stool for you to use to jump on and off my bed with.

I don’t know why you’re not walking on that leg, but I was up until late feeling so guilty about being the cause of it, and missing your warm body cuddling up to mine.  It took all the inner strength I had not to come into Daddy’s room and kiss you.

Did my fast walking throw your shoulder out or pull a muscle?  I was so happy to have a pup that would keep me company in exercising, and I’ve wanted that from you.  But you’re a loyal and loving pup, and would never say “no” to me, even if it hurt you.  I need to say “no” for you from now on — please believe me, it’s not that you’re not welcome with me, it’s because I don’t want to push you past what you can do safely.  I love you a lot more than I need your company while I’m walking.

Last night when you looked up at me from your bed under my desk, I thought I saw tears in your eyes — glistening eyes that asked, “Mummy, will I be ok?”.  It broke my heart.  This morning we’ll take you to the vet so that we can find out exactly what the problem is.  I promise you we’ll help you feel better soon.  I hope it’s only a pulled muscle and not what Daddy thinks — a tumor.

I love you, I love you, I love you, please be ok.

Love,

Mummy

Daily Prompt Dear Pup

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt Dear Pup

  1. Thanks for your concern everyone <3. Turns out the poor thing has both Erlichiosis and Anaplasmosis. Those two are tick-borne diseases that almost killed him as a puppy, so I'm sure his blood counts are really low at the moment. Tick-borne diseases are horrible here. Hubby has been hospitalized twice for Erlichiosis, Babesiosis and Anaplasmosis. One time he was in ICU for a week with atrial fibrillation. Anyway, horrible to have after a certain point, but really easy to knock out if you catch it early, so we'll start antibiotics as soon as hubby can pick them up.

    Like

  2. Wishing you and your pup all the best. Have you read Michael Murporgo’s Born to Run. I’m sure you’ll like it. I read it a few days ago, I was touched by the greyhounds life story. I’m sure it will left up your spirits too !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad I returned to read comments and found update (which is good news & deserving of its own post, puppy is OK and on antibiotics, yey!). Still wonder why husband thought it was a tumor; reveals more about him than anything, hmmm.

    Like

  4. Both of my dogs began getting tumor at around 12, my other dog had the same thing. He has a tumor not too far from the leg that was limping, but I didn’t think it was anything, it looked like a typical benign fatty tumor and I don’t think it’s new. Vet probably thought the same thing because he told Hubby not to worry about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

