Daily Prompt Pot Smoking Baby Boomers


Fireside Chat

Daily Prompt: What person whom you don’t know very well in real life — it could be a blogger whose writing you enjoy, a friend you just recently made, etc. — would you like to have over for a long chat in which they tell you their life story?

I’d love to find a group of people who are responsible baby boomers, exercisers, meditators, casual photographers who also smoke pot.  I’d love to have a community of older people to get stoned with and go for long hikes or photo shoots, and then come back and discuss our photographs, or even talk about our spirituality or meditate together.  I’d want to know all about what makes those people tick.  It may give me some insight into myself.

It sounds like a strange thing to want, but normal people will expect a clean, tidy house and pastries and tea.  They would expect me to present my best image out of respect, and I would disappoint them.  When I was diagnosed with cancer back in 2001, the minister at the Unitarian Church that I was attending gave me a visit to minister to me.  It was lunchtime.  We talked for a little bit, and then she looked around, “Do you have anything to eat?”

“Uh, no,”  I responded.  Then I felt a little guilty.  “Would you like an instant dinner?  I have a bunch of Zone dinners.”

“No thanks…  Well, I think I should be going.”

I guessed (brilliant me) that I was supposed to have prepared a lunch for her.  But right after a cancer diagnosis?  I mean, I wouldn’t have cooked for her even without the cancer diagnosis, but especially then, I was in shock and preoccupied.  I don’t blame her, I blame the fact that my mind doesn’t seem to want to behave according to society’s expectations.

So here’s to some person whom I don’t know:  Let’s smoke pot, talk about our lives, think outside of the box, and then go outside and sit in front of a rock…P1080269_Edited1

… and philosophize, photograph, and stare at it for the next hour.

Daily Prompt Pot Smoking Baby Boomers

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt Pot Smoking Baby Boomers

    1. It does give an interesting perspective although I do not blog stoned. I do spend a lot of my afternoon stoned, though, so a lot of my reading and commenting is done altered. Thanks for reading this! I’ll have to go check your blog out now :p

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

