Daily Prompt The Rest of the Junk


If I had the luxury of a moving van, I would pack:

1.  All of my electronics including my computer and printer, cellphone, DvD players, Blu-Ray player, Television, Android tablet and chargers

2.  All of the paperwork and tax papers for us and my mother, including a couple of bills that are coming due

3.  A bunch of clothes — coats, raincoats, shoes as well as dog stuff (leashes, collar, food, a dog jacket, poop bags, blanket, chew toys)

4. Exercise equipment including our elliptical trainer, cross-country skiier, weights, foam rollers, trampoline, yoga mats, blankets, and bolsters, skis, snowshoes, bicycles

5. My medicines and vitamins including the rest of my stash and paraphernalia

6. All of my meditation cushions and Buddha statues.

7. Oh, let’s throw in the 30 or so boxes of books in the attic since I am fond of owning books

8. Cameras, photography books, and bags

9.  All of my games and puzzles.  In the realm of gamers our collection is probably very close to the best 2-person games collections.

10. My overnight bag which has some miscellaneous stuff in it like shampoo, toothpaste, earplugs, nail clippers, and chap stick to get me through the next couple of days

11. Both cars

12. Some fragile glass stuff we have would be nice to take.  It’s all memorabilia, but cool.  One is a huge glass bull that is blue in the center and clear on the outside.  He was made on the island of Murano in Italy.  I also have some ceramic bowls and stuff that I’ve bought during travels that I really like.  It’s rare for me to buy that sort of thing, but every once in a while I find myself in a buying mood and will splurge on something totally useless but pretty.

Many years ago, when I was a young adult software engineer, I bought my parents a pair of delicate, exquisite crystal champagne glasses for their anniversary.  I spent a lot of money on those glasses, and my mother put them in their cabinet and never took them out again (My parents weren’t romantic or sentimental.  What was I thinking when I bought those?).  When my mother started to go downhill and moved out of her house, I took the dust-covered glasses back, and they’re one of my precious belongings.  Those glasses would be carefully packed and brought with me.

My logic would be to take stuff I probably wouldn’t go out and buy again.
Things like exercise equipment, books, and cameras are easy to get but they fall into the category of stuff that gets bought once in a blue moon, so probably would never be replaced or take a long time to replace.

Better yet, how about this.  I would take everything except furniture, linens, kitchen stuff, cleaning stuff, gardening stuff, and bathroom stuff.

I think that if there were REALLY a fire, the reality would be closer to the first prompt — a handful of things, including my pot and Ativan, and Hubby and Pup.  On the way out we’d probably grab coats and jackets and spare clothes and throw things in our cars.

Burnt

Remember this prompt, when your home was on fire and you got to save five items? That means you left a lot of stuff behind. What are the things you wish you could have taken, but had to leave behind?

Daily Prompt The Rest of the Junk

Leave a Reply

