Daily Prompt An Offer I Couldn’t Refuse


I find myself feeling moments of gratitude for everything and everyone in my life who surround me and support my efforts to find a meaningful life.  Maybe it’s the meditation that is having a transforming effect on what I’m noticing.

The weather is so cold here that the 5 feet of snow that we’ve receive in the past week has evaporated into, maybe 4.  We have snow predicted for tomorrow and the next day, and then 0 degree temperatures.

It’s been an exceptionally snowy winter which I adore (if we can only make it through without a pipe bursting or ice dams).  Snow is a remarkable creation of Mother Nature.  Blizzards are gorgeous to watch.  During the last blizzard the other day, Hubby and I gamed all day in the dining room, watching the house across the street slowly get buried.  That’s what our house looks like to them.

Yesterday I had one of those rare occasions when I must leave the house for an errand, and discovered the town plows had plowed my driveway back in, and left snow in front of my mailbox, which had been shovelled clear.  I took a shovel and shovelled just enough in front of the mailbox so that we could get our mail.  I started shovelling the driveway and decided I’d had enough so I went inside.

About 20 minutes later I looked outside and I could have sworn the driveway was plowed again.

Later on in the day I went out to get my mail, and lo and behold, someone had shovelled my driveway and mailbox.  I wondered whether it was the guy across the street who felt sorry for me.  Or maybe the guy who plows our driveway just happened by and saw that the town plows had plowed us in again.  In any case, I’m grateful that I didn’t have to go back outside with the shovel.

In these remarkable little ways, my life is supported.  Maybe it’s always been like this but I never noticed.

Race the Clock
Daily Prompt:  Here’s the title of your post: “An Offer I Couldn’t Refuse.”
Set a timer for ten minutes, and write it. Go!

Daily Prompt An Offer I Couldn’t Refuse

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt An Offer I Couldn’t Refuse

  1. Dhammic Writer says:

    I’ve recently started writing a gratitude journal where, every day, I list three things I’m grateful for that day. In fact, write now I’m grateful for you both for all the support you’ve given me and also for giving me an idea about what I’m going to blog about tomorrow night 🙂

    All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

