Daily Prompt Snow, Ice, and Cold


I woke up this morning looking out the window and, seeing more snow coming down, threw the covers over my head, pulling down my cap.  Later on I sneaked into the kitchen to discover that the bottles and cans were overflowing and the ceiling of the kitchen is starting to leak in other spots.

It’s not really the damage to the kitchen that bothers me — that kitchen has been a mess since we bought the house.  It’s had a hole in the ceiling that has indicated past problems, and now I think we have a slight clue.  Maybe the plumbing had been patched in the past and now the patch has corroded or come apart.

What really bothers me is that I feel like a trapped animal, even though Pup and I go outside every day and do a strenuous snowshoe loop.  It’s a tough loop, and I’d rather be on the track or trail, under the sun, working on my running and feeling the warmth of Vitamin D charming my spirits.

With mother problems and Old Man Winter not letting up its hold on us, we’re both in bad moods.  Last night we discovered, as a result of Pup’s change in pooping pattern from getting sick, a lovely pile of poop in the TV room.  We ate dinner and watched part of a show right in front of the poop, and then I finally cleaned it up and walked out.

I love dogs dearly, but I’ve cleaned up so much poop, pee, and vomit in my lifetime sometimes I tell myself I’ll never get another dog again.

It’s not Pup’s fault, though.  He doesn’t poop well when it’s actively snowing or windy.  No matter how much I walk him around, he pulls to go back inside where he can poop in comfort.  That’s not too much for a poor dog to ask is it?

We just received another town warning that more snow and ice is on its way and to “take care of the snow on your roof, because three feet will exceed the design limit of the roof”.  The contractor the other day threw calcium pellets onto our roof.  Hubby went out and bought more, and I want him to throw more up when he gets home.

Between the snow on our roof, the leaking in our kitchen, and the damage we’re going to suffer when millions of gallons of snow start melting around the property and on the roof and flood everything, I can’t wait until the day we can look back on this and say “I thought we’d never come back from that one.”

Write about anything you’d like, but make sure the post includes this sentence:

“I thought we’d never come back from that one.”
Use It or Lose It

Daily Prompt Snow, Ice, and Cold

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt Snow, Ice, and Cold

  1. Dhammic Writer says:

    On the other side of the planet here and we’re flooded in at the moment. A lot of rain, but that sounds better than your extreme snow. Hoping the damage isn’t too bad or too costly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

