Daily Prompt India, Alaska, Verizon Store, and Roof in that Order


I have always wanted to go to India.  I think it’s because I worked with and for mostly Indians as a software engineer and because of them I’ve grown fascinated with anything Indian — Indian food, Indian clothing, Indian culture.  Of course my Indian friends warn me that my expectations are much higher than I’ll encounter if I go there.

I get car sick, so I worry about having to travel on buses and those Indian taxi thingies and getting motion sickness.  That’s the only reason why I’ve never made the trip.  I think the plane trip itself it like 16 hours.

If I could have a river cruise or train cruise through India I’d love it, although if somehow I could snap my fingers and visit Dharmasala, I would like to experience seeing the place where the Dalai Lama lives.  I would consider that an auspicious event in my life.

Hubby and I have not been on a real vacation in many years.  Instead of India, which may never happen because of my car sickness, he’s pushing for us to take an inner waterways Alaskan cruise.  Alaska has the outdoor activity I’d love, and there’s plenty to photograph.  Also, no wandering around in streets and trains with luggage trying to find a place to stay every night. (That’s how we got mugged in St. Petersburg, by the way.  Struggling with luggage can make you vulnerable to pickpockets).  It would be nice to have every meal miraculously presented and all we’d have to do is enjoy ourselves watching whales and polar bears and whatever the heck else there is to see.

Alaska doesn’t speak to me at all except “easy trip”.  I guess  the words “easy trip” are big enough to make it appealing.

On another note, I woke up this morning and discovered my cell phone is dead.  I hate my cell phone.  Maybe I’ll upgrade prematurely.  Also Hubby’s off skiing, and he was supposed to be helping me carry the ladder so I can start working on our roof.  He has a happy life.  I wish I could ignore things as well as he does.  So the day is not off to a productive start.  I’ll finish my coffee and make way to the cell phone store to see if they can help me get my phone powered up again.  The plumber’s supposed to come today.  I don’t think he will if he can’t call me.

What’s your dream tourist destination — either a place you’ve been and loved, or a place you’d love to visit? What about it speaks to you?  Thanks for the great idea, mehakzaidi!
Tourist Trap

Daily Prompt India, Alaska, Verizon Store, and Roof in that Order

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt India, Alaska, Verizon Store, and Roof in that Order

  1. Dhammic Writer says:

    India is an amazing country – that’s where I met the mother of my daughter even though I”m Australian and she’s American. There is so much contrast, so much poverty and suffering, yet also so much beauty and spirituality. The Taj Mahal has got to be the most beautiful building on the planet, it’s certainly the most beautiful building I’ve ever seen. Yet, a hundred or so miles away, you can watch dead bodies (on biers) floating down the Ganges.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

