Daily Prompt: To Be Happier, Healthier, and Help Make the Earth More Sustainable


I look outside my window.  It snowed last night, and although the weather report professes it to be 30 degrees F, I can hear the rush of strong winds blowing the trees around, meaning the wind chill is going to make my daily hike much colder.  I predict today Pup will turn to me and give me that look that says “I’ve peed and I’ve pooped.  Let’s go home!”.

I’ll say what every New Englander has said every day for the past month or so.  I’M SO FREAKIN’ SICK OF WINTER!  Ok, now that I have that off my chest, on to my list…

Dalai Lama — It seems pompous to have the Dalai Lama on my list.  However, since there are no restrictions in our choices, I would very much like to have some of his attributes.  The Dalai Lama represents one of the last cultures on earth whose premise is peace.  He lives what he preaches.  His life has been full of adversity and yet he manages to find joy.  I know that no one can make my journey but me, but with a smidgen of the Dalai Lama in me, I might have some insight as to how to be less self-absorbed and reach out to commune with other people more.

Mr. Chiropractor – He is always happy.  He skis every day, and when the weather is warmer he’s a long distance runner.  He’s my example of someone that gets a kick out of life every single day.

Masanobu Fukuoka – Masanobu Fukuoka, for those who don’t know him, is the author of several books, the first of which was The One-Straw Revolution.  He was a botanist by profession, and discovered a way to farm the land without altering it.  By studying the seasons, and the soil and conditions, he planted crops in between the wild plant life that already existed.  His way of farming is sustainable, and requires no watering or fertilization because the plants help each other to survive.  He lived in a small hut on his farm, and ate only what he grew and only the amount he needed.  He’s dead now, but he’s on my list because I would have one of his followers take his place on my list.

I’m not a farmer and I hate gardening.  What attracts me to Fukuoka is the lesson that we can live on earth in harmony.  He has given us proof that there’s another way than what we’re doing now.  Why do we have to destroy in order for us to live?  If we all respected the earth, there would be more food and water to feed the entire population of the planet.

Danny Dreyer – Danny Dreyer is the discoverer of a type of running that uses the inner balance and low impact of tai chi as a foundation for running.  Danny is an ultra marathoner.  Chi Running takes a lot of practice to do correctly.  In Chi Running, Danny says that there is no such thing as not being able to run because of knee problems, however there is a wrong way to run.  It’s this wrong way that causes impact injuries.  Can I ever be a true runner? I don’t know, but I think that wish will be on my to-do list for my entire life.

Patricia Walden – I was a Rodney Yee yoga fan for many years.  Last year I began doing a Patricia Walden DvD Yoga for Flexibility.  I notice that on days that I don’t do this DvD my back feels stiff.  When I do it, I feel my back holding a much straighter position, and the added flexibility in my hips makes twisting easier when I walk or hike or run.  Both Patricia Walden and Rodney Yee are articulate in their instructions, and they can describe the complex physiology involved when they teach.  I would love to have her flexibility and body-mind connection.

As I look over my list of five people I see a theme.  I want to be a fundamentally better person.  Not richer, but maybe a bit smarter, healthier, happier, and more willing to get out of the house and join the world.

A writer once said, “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true, which five people would you like to spend your time with?
Thanks for the great idea, Nishad!
Circle of Five

Daily Prompt: To Be Happier, Healthier, and Help Make the Earth More Sustainable

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: To Be Happier, Healthier, and Help Make the Earth More Sustainable

  1. Dhammic Writer says:

    Sounds like a great list, I hadn’t heard of ‘The One Straw Revolution’ before. I’ve now downloaded the free sample to my Kindle – where it will have to compete with all the other free samples to be the next book I read when I finish my current book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

