Daily Prompt: Everyone Survives, Hee hee hee, I’m so funny.


I am quite humorless when it comes to real life.  That’s why I rarely watch comedy.  While the rest of the crowd is roaring with laughter at a joke, I’m the one in the back smiling but with a slightly furrowed brow as I look around thinking “I don’t get it” or “Why was that funny?”

Hubby loves TV commercials.  He watches them with bated breath and then breaks out in laughter.  I’m like, “Uh, what was so funny about that?”  He claims that I care so little about commercials that I don’t even make space in my brain for them.  They just go in one ear and pass, unprocessed, right out the other ear.  It’s true, I don’t catch a single word of most commercials, my brain is so trained to tune out anything it considers frivolous.  He has to replay the commercial while explaining the punch line to me, and then I’ll get my chuckle.

The same goes for April Fools jokes, unfortunately.  I’ll read an article that’s completely off the wall, obviously a joke, and my brain will absorb it as real news.  The world is so twisted to begin with, I can’t tell a joke from real life.

I don’t communicate on the same wavelength as people who are always pulling people’s legs either.  Whatever they say, I believe.   Then they have to back up and explain to me that they were just kidding.  I’m the person that ruins everyone’s jokes, because I need explanations.

I don’t know why I’m like this, probably because of the utter humorlessness of my childhood.  My older brother switched the sugar and salt on Dad one April 1st long ago.  We laughed nervously when he tasted his salty coffee, crossing our fingers that someone wasn’t going to get the shit beat out of them.

So for anyone watching a Quentin Tarantino movie today, I’ll just say that everyone survives.  Oh ha ha hee ha ha!!!  I’m so funny.

It’s April 1st! Pull a fast one — publish a post that gently pranks your readers.Fool Me Once

Daily Prompt: Everyone Survives, Hee hee hee, I’m so funny.

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Everyone Survives, Hee hee hee, I’m so funny.

  1. Dhammic Writer says:

    I don’t know how much of this post I should believe. I read a good quote today that said something like “April 1st is the only day of the year when people read the news objectively before they believe it.”

    Same might go for blog posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

