Daily Prompt: Cancer and Weed


Ten years ago was when I began to experience the longterm negative impact of my cancer treatments.  I was hit with a terrible depression and pain in my back that went up through my neck.  I’m embarrassed to say I went into my boss’s office and cried.  The workplace doesn’t understand mental illness, and neither does it want it.  I took time off without pay for my chronic pain and depression.

Nobody ever had the guts to tell me that cancer is forever.  When I was diagnosed, everyone was so lighthearted, telling me, “This is just a bump in the road.  The treatments aren’t so bad, and then you’ll get on with your life as though nothing ever happened.”  I’m sure the braver and tougher of our race has had this experience, but I am neither brave nor tough, and the ride has been anything but easy for me.

When I was going through chemo, my doctor told me “Marijuana might be of help with your nausea, if you can find some.”  Of course I couldn’t, because I wasn’t a druggie, and neither did I know any druggies nor drug dealers.  He prescribed a synthetic marijuana called Marinol.  Marinol is a joke.  I’m not even sure how it ever got approved for anything.  It’s like a sugar pill except without even the pleasure of the sugar.

If someone had had the guts to point me to where I could have bought some pot, it would have saved me two bouts of percocet addiction and withdrawal, and a bout of coming a thread away from killing myself.  It would have saved my body from getting pummelled with up to 20 pills a day.  It would have saved at least 20 emergency room visits and a couple of hospitalizations including an unnecessary surgery and countless x-rays, MRI, CAT, and PET scans.  It would have saved me thousands of dollars in holistic treatments, physical therapy, and shrink therapy that did nothing for me.  Yes, it has been that bad.

I might have had my last ten years back if someone had reached out and advised me on how to obtain marijuana.  Yes, I would have risked getting jailed and bought it if I knew how.  Every single day I’m thankful for the people who take risks to stand up for medical marijuana.   There are many people like me whose lives have been or could be dramatically changed for the better by it — many who are currently suffering but don’t even know that it’s an option.  I’m so grateful for my life as it is today.  It’s not drug free, I admit that — I still take pills for my depression and anxiety and smoke pot.  But now I’m down to the absolute minimum that I need, to be the person I want to be, with no side effects to hassle with.  This is the first time in a very long time that the choice of living has been made a viable option for me.

What’s the one piece of advice you wish someone had given you a year (or five, or ten…) ago?
Powerful Suggestion

Daily Prompt: Cancer and Weed

27 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Cancer and Weed

    1. There are hundreds of strains too. Patients need help figuring out what strains work for them. They can easily try something with too much THC and blow it off without realizing the CBD strains are completely different.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. A friend of mine is really getting behind legalisation in Australia. She uses it for back pain. She educated me about the different strains and percentages of different chemicals and it really is something the average Joe would need some help with and legalising it would be the best way to do that, as far as I can tell.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. I hate Big Pharma with a seething, burning passion. Anything to prevent us from cultivating our own cures. Thank you for sharing this. As one who is surrounded by people who are on multi-medications that are more damaging than helpful (and as one who is on them herself for chronic sleeplessness and anxiety), I appreciate this piece more than you know.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. JC says:

    You are so correct, medical marijuana, to say the least, should be legalized in all 50 states! There is a study that I’m trying to get in on for the use of cannabis and Parkinson’s disease, as well as other uses. Thanks… jc

    Liked by 2 people

  3. “druggie and neither did I know druggies nor drug dealers.” …
    I don’t use drugs now or MARIJUANA. I know some good people that do … for personal reasons and for illness. Pain is not something that is easy to deal with when it gets past the scale of “frown with tears.” If it manages the pain I would use it in a flash. I have chronic back pain and I am considering it. I will if it continues to get worse. Thank you for sharing your story and God Bless you!! MARIJUANA always takes me back to being 13 to 16 years old again… when It was around everywhere. Before our society demonized the use of it.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I have skipped out on the painkillers so far, not being a tough guy rather a stupid one. Although my neighbor’s son has repeatedly offered to “obtain” something medicinal should I be interested. Maybe it’s time to go back to my frat boy days and have someone grow it under the stairs?

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Poor you, but well done for standing up and telling us what you had to go through. I didn’t know pot was illegal for medical purposes in the US, it isn’t here in Europe in most countries. but I know what you’ve been through. I’ve had cancer for fifteen years now and while my side effects have been far worse than my treatment, at least I’m still here. But I was warned before surgery, radio therapy and all the rest how it would leave me and the worst is constant, daily pain. I am on the maximum dosage of morphine a human can survice on so I put up with the pain, but it does make me wonder at times whether I should have risked just letting the cancer get on with it and not leave me like this. But then I look at my my wife and two sons and all they’ve done for me, and I know I wouldn’t have had it any other way. Life can be great and it can be a sod, but we have to face that it’s the only one we get this side of Heaven. Good luck, and thanks for sharing. You’ve no idea how much it helps. God Bless. Anton.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think it’s legal in 20 states, my state being one of them, fortunately, although we still have no dispensaries. I have to drive 2 hours to Maine as well as have my certification for that state in order to obtain my supply.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Just because you smoke marijuana doesn’t mean you are a druggie…… drinking wine doesn’t make you an alcoholic. I smoke and I’m damn sick of the hypocrisy. Alcohol is so widely accepted and yet it is the more dangerous drug. I see people laughing and “Drink Up!” “Party on!” on TV. It’s ‘fun’ and ‘funny’ getting tipsy…… but smoke a bowl? Degenerate!

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I’m glad that “the choice of living has been made a viable option” for you. Otherwise I, and I assume many others, would never have the privilege of connecting with you.
    I’m sorry you had to go through what you have to get here but I am glad that you are here.
    I’m send you positive energy and love to keep you strong and here for as long as possible 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

