Daily Prompt: Do No Harm


Is karma like a quid pro quo thing?  Like, if I, I dunno, clean my toilet today, will I receive a surprise package of pot in the mail?  Or maybe it will extend my life by 10 minutes.

And if I cleaned both my and Hubby’s toilets, will I’ll get 20 minutes more of life?

Wait, but why would I want my life extended?  Do I get to negotiate the quo part?  And who do I contact to negotiate this with?

Or is cleaning toilets out of the quid pro quo?  Do I have to, like, jump in a frozen lake and save a kitten before I get my quo?

Where am I in the karma scale of 1-10 anyway?  1?  10?  I mean, if I’m already at 10 then I’m doing just fine and can settle down happily smoking dope and walk through my woods blissfully like I always do.

On the other hand…  what if I were, like, -1, omg?  I mean, if you’re a -1, would it be worth even trying?  Is my life already the quo retaliation for some previous life who royally fucked up?

Too many questions.  Too too many questions.

I think I’ll just assume I’m already a 10 and continue doing exactly what I’m already doing.  After all, sometimes doing no harm is the best thing you can do.

This just in: let’s pretend that science has proven that karma is a thing. Your words and actions will influence what happens to you in the future. How (if at all) will you change your ways?
Karma Chameleon

Daily Prompt: Do No Harm

23 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Do No Harm

  1. Some people hate doing laundry, which I don’t mind, but cleaning the toilet is the worst of the worst. I don’t know why I think it’s such a chore — I mean, I’ve changed diapers, so it’s not the gross factor. Something about sticking my hand down that hole…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karma kind of has an innate “law of equivalent exchange” that is to say what you get out of it is only equal to but not more or less than what’s been put into it. Of course you won’t become a millionaire if you babysit your neighbors dog lol. It’s all about positive attitude and how you present yourself, if you do good things then people will recognize that and more positive things may come your way.

    Interesting and amusing post, I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Can I call you Living? Should I be more formal and call you Chi? Is On your middle name? Oh well.
    I for one would probably not change anything about my behavior even if science proved that karma is real. That’s because knowing karma is real could only validate the other side of the equation, which is that we are enmeshed in a vast network of action and reaction that is beyond our comprehension. So the notion of any ripening of a reaction to whatever we have done is entirely restricted to the capacity of our own limited view, in which we believe we are the actors and we believe we are the ones acted upon, but actually, neither is true.

    See my blog on karma, if you dare: http://spontaneouspresence.net/2015/03/26/karma-a-thing-of-the-past/

    Smiles and bows to you, Ms Chi-girl. You are so fine.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Doing no harm is definitely the best thing a person can do, but one must also consider that the road to hell is paved with good intentions. What happens when in the spirit of doing no harm you do harm? How does karma get measured then?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

