Daily Prompt: Steve Gottlieb, Toilets (His), and Hemorrhoids (Mine)


gottlieb
Steve Gottlieb in Washington, DC

Here’s a photo of one of the coolest, nicest, smartest photographers I’ve ever met.  His name is Steve Gottlieb, and he taught a photography workshop that I did in Washington, DC.  It’s funny, because he has this frown in every picture I have of him.  But he’s not frowning at all.  He’s organizing the group;  his eyes are constantly scanning, capturing every single photo opportunity;  he’s not missing a single thing!  And that’s one reason why he’s world class.  Oh, and what a charismatic charmer he is!  He can talk anyone into letting him take a photo of them.  Well, the guy’s an ex-Washington lawyer, what do you expect?

He quit lawyering to become a professional photographer.  After all, what decent human in their right mind wants to be a Washington lawyer?  He’s crossed the country several times creating photography books, his latest book being on the subject of toilets (Yes, even toilets, apparently, are more interesting than being a lawyer.).  He’s an amazing photographer, and writer as well.

For a while he posted the best workshop photos by his students on his site, and a couple of mine made it.  I never knew that until I googled myself one day, just for kicks.

I rarely google myself, because I have a lot of posts from my cancer days in the Internet newsgroups discussing my hemorrhoids and how I dealt with them.  So, as you can imagine, I’m not too keen on being reminded that the entire world knows I have hemorrhoids.  That was back in 2001.  I was ignorant about how long that kind of shit floats (No pun intended, but oh well.) around the Internet universe.

Is there a reason why I’m talking about toilets, hemorrhoids, and shit today?  I must be waiting for my coffee to do its thing.

Anyhow, here’s my adorable Steve Gottlieb who whisked us all over Washington, DC, inspiring us to take our best photos, and we did!  What fun it was.

Write about anything you’d like, but make sure that all seven colors of the rainbow — red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet — make an appearance in the post, either through word or image.
Roy G. Biv

Daily Prompt: Steve Gottlieb, Toilets (His), and Hemorrhoids (Mine)

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Steve Gottlieb, Toilets (His), and Hemorrhoids (Mine)

  1. Dhammic Writer says:

    I’m confused … you say you don’t want to be reminded that the whole world knows you had haemorrhoids, yet you’ve just reminded the whole world? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

