Daily Prompt: My Head is Throbbing Already


Let me put it this way.  I hate long plane trips where I’m imprisoned in a tiny seat, head throbbing from the cabin pressure.

I hate jet lag, which takes me days to get over.

I hate cars, taxis, and buses.

I hate walking the streets with my suitcase every single day looking for places to stay.

I hate being stuck wandering up and down streets because all of the museums are closed or out of season.

I hate spending hours shopping for where to eat instead of just eating at the first place we see.

Hubby loves all of the above.  He’s most definitely a wing-it person.  He wants to fly someplace with no plans whatsoever, and then rely on serendipity to guide us.  We get to see and do a lot of different things his way, but oh the stress it causes me in the meantime!  I’d rather be at home with my dog where I’m comfortable and don’t have to worry about motion sickness, jet lag, bathrooms, or being dehydrated all day.

Hubby’s 70 years old, though, and he deserves to travel more.  We’re trying to find compromises where we can both have a good time so we can do more travelling over the next couple of years.  We’re going to do a Paris photography workshop next month, and maybe a Japan trip after that.  Although, shit, if anything is more nightmarish than a Manhattan cab it’s a Tokyo cab.  Just the thought of having to ride another Tokyo cab terrifies me.  I can only pray that things are better than when I was 8 years old.

What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide?
The Happy Wanderer

Daily Prompt: My Head is Throbbing Already

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: My Head is Throbbing Already

  1. I certainly understand. Traveling to a destination can be a nightmare, and it’s always easier for you if there is some type of plans made ahead of time to follow when you get there. Good luck on your next trip. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with you on this one. I love to travel but i need a plan and a ‘base’ to operate from while I’m visiting another city or country.
    i traveled to Paris years ago and loved it, but I’ve never been to Japan and desperately want to go there.
    I hope you find enjoyment in both adventures 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

