Daily Prompt: A Community of Odd Ducks


My ideal community would look like me (Omg, did I just say “look like me”?  What a dumb statement.  Reminds me of my Christopher Coumbus story, which I’ll tell you later.  Remind me if I forget.):  different and eccentric, of all races, countries, ages, and abilities or disabilities.

Art art art would be all over the place!  Buildings and rocks would be covered with artistic expression, and statues would invade everywhere.  The days would be filled with mindful working, mostly silent or quiet talking.  Cell phones and televisions would not exist, or would be restricted to people’s private residences, which would be soundproof.  We would have Internet.  We would have a shared blog — stories about our daily lives — and perhaps likeminded people would discover us this way.

We’d have an organic garden, and when someone who knew how to cook got inspired to cook a community meal, people would volunteer to help harvest, chop, cook, and wash.  As often as the weather permitted, we’d cook campfire style.  Stories and laughter would fill the air in the early evenings.

We’d have horses, dogs, cats, pigs, sheep, chickens, llamas — whatever.  Not to eat, but to take care of and adore.  Not too many, though, so that each one is very well cared for.  They would all be tame and friendly, because we’d step softly, with a gentle hand.

It goes without saying that we’d also get all the privacy we needed, especially  for us introverted private types.  Maybe we’d even have a chapel for meditation and worship.

So….  to change subjects for a sec:  when I was about 8 years old, my class put on a play about Christopher Columbus.  I got the privilege of playing ol’ Chris.  I presented some sort of monologue about how Columbus discovered America, and then I opened it up for questions.  Someone asked, “What did the Indians look like?”  I answered “They looked like me, with yellow skin and black hair.”

Hilarity immediately erupted in the room, much to my chagrin.  I was christened “Chris” for a long time thereafter.  Oh how I hated that name!  To this day I’m not convinced it was THAT funny, but maybe it was in my delivery?

Anyway, that’s one of the dumb things I did as a kid.  Another dumb thing I did was, I went through a phase where I had to smell EVERYTHING.  I must have been a tad OCD as a kid.  I smelled a bottle of formaldehyde (That might explain some things :p).  I smelled every bite of food before putting it into my mouth.  I even smelled a burning light bulb and burnt my nose.  I had this compulsion to identify the smell of every single damned thing, no matter how mundane or ridiculous.

I really don’t think there was anything normal about me as a kid.  That’s just one of the data points in the formula that makes me an odd duck adult.

What does your ideal community look like? How is it organized, and how is community life structured? What values does the community share?
Idyllic

Daily Prompt: A Community of Odd Ducks

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: A Community of Odd Ducks

  1. Dhammic Writer says:

    You must have been a hippy in a past life – your ideal community sounds pretty similar to some communities I lived in back in my hippy days (or should that be hippy daze?).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

