Daily Prompt: FIMB


People who speak French fluently get me oh so so jealous!  I’ve been doing Pimsleur French for 1/2 hour every day, and I still can barely understand even a WORD of a French movie!

Have you ever tried watching a French movie?  The spew of sounds that comes out of their mouths is a totally incomprehensible string of nonsense.

Even more baffling is that the other people respond as though they understand perfectly.  What sort of farce is this?  Are they serious?

I think French is a ploy — some sort of elaborate April 1st joke gone awry.  Movies, Pimsleur — some very wealthy man is having a big laugh.  Probably Gerard Depardieu.  Or maybe Inspector Clouseau is trying to capture a jewel thief by scrambling his brain so badly he screams for mercy:  “English!  English!  Please!  I’ll tell you anything you want to know, just stop with the French!!  I beg of you!”

Maybe it’s not jealousy I feel but the result of a major case of FIMB (French-Induced Mangled Brain).

We all get jealous from time to time — what wakes the green-eyed monster for you?
Green-Eyed Lady

Daily Prompt: FIMB

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: FIMB

  1. These sort of experiences make you more compassionate for immigrants to your own country who can’t speak English. I lived in Germany for six months and that taught me a lot! xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I took French all four years of high school and then two years in college, and I have the same reaction to the language that you do. If someone speaks it slow enough, almost molasses-in-January slow, I can understand them and then formulate a response, but anything faster than that, and it’s all gobbledygook.

    C’est la vie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dhammic Writer says:

    I think that monologuists like myself are much poorer than people who can speak (and think) in more than one language. Learning a new language when you’re older is meant to be one of the best ways to prevent the onset of dementia (according to the excellent book “The Brain that changes itself”).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can see why. It’s very taxing. I told hubby we should commit to studying languages forever because it’s so demanding. It must be exercising part of my brain that’s been idle.

      Like

  4. In high school my friends and I were convinced that there was not rhyme or reason to how it was decided when something was categorized as ‘female’ or ‘male’ in French. We imagined monks locked away somewhere making decisions without considering how anyone could make sense of any of it all 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

