Daily Prompt: Dammit, Time to do Something Meaningful


Well, I’ve been lingering for weeks, and the day has come that I need to get off my introverted butt and un-linger.

We have to leave in a couple of hours for the airport, and I haven’t packed a single thing.

Who wants to go to the Paris photography workshop instead of me?  Oh stop with the me me me me’s!

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  Long plane trips, cars, taxis, buses, and jet lag, no house, no doggy, no blogging, no daily routine, no woods to walk in and squirrels to talk to… THAT IS NOT MY IDEA OF FUN!!

I dread this.  I have a shitload of gear to pack, including pills and creams to cover every single imaginable circumstance short of death.

Hubby has been all excited about this trip.  He’s been cramming photography manuals and running around setting timers on lights, and now he’s taken Pup to the kennel.  I began refusing to take him a couple of years ago.  I know my dog, and I know that look on his face when he realizes it’s not to the running track he’s going but to the kennel, to sit alone, shaking, without Mummy and Daddy or the warmth and safety of his bed… for weeks.  I hate that look.  It haunts my entire trip.  When I get home, he’ll have two weeks worth of shit accumulated, waiting to unload in his own yard.

-sigh- ok, dammit.  Time to get off of my lazy, complaining butt and start packing.  Will this trip be better than I’m anticipating?  We’ll see.  See everyone in a couple of weeks.

Tell us about times in which you linger — when you don’t want an event, or a day to end. What is it you love about these times? Why do you wish you could linger forever?
Linger

Daily Prompt: Dammit, Time to do Something Meaningful

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Dammit, Time to do Something Meaningful

  1. Dhammic Writer says:

    Me me me me me!

    Just kidding, the trip is only temporary – you’ll soon be back with your dog and your walks – but it does sound like the trip of a lifetime. Enjoy it. Or I really will take your place 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

