MLMM: The Diamond


MLMM T 150623
Photo Credit: – Zemotion

She picked up a handful of dirt, and enclosed her hand around it. Her hand pulsed and glowed, and her body shuddered. With her eyes still glued to me, she opened her hand and there appeared a diamond.

She handed me the diamond.

Then I woke up. Was it a dream?

On the kitchen table lay a diamond. And a letter.

“Hold this jewel in your hands tightly for 5 seconds, and you can have all of these you want.”

“All of the diamonds I could want!”  I sucked in my breath. “I’ll be rich beyond my wildest dreams. I’ll buy a mansion with a swimming pool and a huge car, and hire servants. I’ll have women hanging off of each arm and throw extravagant parties!”

I picked up the diamond, sniffed it, and bit on it. It seemed real. I held it tightly in my hands for 5 seconds.  Glowing, it transported me. What I didn’t know at the time, though, was that it was a one-way flight to another planet.

== 178 words ==


Thanks to Neeraj (NEKNEERAJ) for hosting Photo Challenge #66, The Waiting, June 23, 2015. He presents us with a photo and asks us to write a poem or short story based upon it. Everyone is welcome to participate.

When you’re done, TAG the post Photo Challenge and MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie, and add your link to the MLMM Image Below. And don’t forget to link to this post or copy your post’s URL into this post. We can read your post sooner that way.

MLMM: The Diamond

7 thoughts on “MLMM: The Diamond

Leave a Reply

