MLMM: The Revelation


“Would you like a drink?”  There was a tinge of rascal in the old woman’s tone.  I’d been wandering around the woods lost for hours before stumbling upon her cottage.

Tired and hungry, I took the fragrant drink gratefully.  A warmth consumed me — it was a nice warmth.  Soon there were beautiful, eerie multicolored swirls in the air.

The old woman dangled a locket in front of me.  “This holds the secret to your life, but if you open it you will never be the same again.”

I took the locket and opened it.  It was a picture of me, dead in a coffin.  “I don’t understand.  Will I die?”  I slurred, a bit tipsy.

“No, you’re already dead.  You died in an operation 10 years ago.  Everything in your world has been and will be a dream for the rest of eternity.  There is no exit.”  The old woman cackled and cackled.

This was good news.  That meant all of my problems were just a dream.  I could ignore work and bills and tell all of the idiots in my life to go to hell.  I could just accept the joyful, happy things in this… dream.  I didn’t mind spending eternity here at all.  I thanked her and left as she continued to cackle.

After she left, the old woman picked up her cat and kissed her, “We did it again, Pumpkin!  That lady thinks she’s dead!”  She almost dropped the cat as she fell on the floor laughing.

== 250 words ==


Thanks to Chèvrefeuille for hosting Fairy Tale prompt June 26th 2015 A Japanese Fairy Tale to inspire you. He presents us with a photo and background story and asks us to write a tale based upon it. This week’s theme is curiosity.

When you’re done, TAG the post Fairy Tale Prompt and MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie, and add your link to the MLMM Image Below. And don’t forget to copy your post’s URL into this post. We can read your post sooner that way.

 

MLMM: The Revelation

21 thoughts on “MLMM: The Revelation

Leave a Reply

