The Playmate


He was like a 6-year-old; innocent and curious about everything;  his laughter was infectious.  He reached out his arms to her, and she entered the gate.

“I will always be here when you need me,” he said.  “I am your strength when you need strength.  When you need courage, I will give it to you.  I will be love when you need to be loved.  Now let’s go play!”  He stretched his legs through the grass like a colt, and ran like a feather on the wind, his arms stretched out wide, spinning circles under the nurturing sun, filling the air with hilarity.

She laughed at him.  “Who are you?”

He giggled.  “Don’t you know?  I’m YOU!”

== 119 words ==

The Playmate

3 thoughts on “The Playmate

Leave a Reply

