Read the Small Print!


I’d have to read the small print on this fountain before drinking the water. Does this instant youth also cure all diseases and restore full health? Can I keep my retirement and savings? Can I have a party with, say, hubby, my brothers and mother and mother-in-law so that they can have sips too? Can I bottle it and sell it?

What if I took some to my mother and mother-in-law and put some in the water of their memory care facilities so that everyone in the home became young again?

When we’re young, we watch as the prettiest, smartest, and most athletic get the attention. When we’re middle-aged, it’s the most competent that get the attention. When we’re old, we become all alike. Old age hides a lot of a person’s life accomplishments. I’d love to see a homeful of demented elderly lose every single resident to youth instead of death. What a sight that would be.

What if I took a bottle of the stuff and poured it into a public reservoir?

You see, real fountains of youth are a lot more complicated than the stories would have you believe. Search the bushes for that super-thin parchment with microscopic writing on it, folded a million times into a tiny square and written in broken English and study it carefully (preferably with your lawyer or doctor) before drinking!


Written in response to today’s WordPress Daily Prompt Forever Young: If there were a real Fountain of Youth, would you drink the water?

Read the Small Print!

7 thoughts on “Read the Small Print!

Leave a Reply

