Living in Obscurity


The hit song when Hubby and his twin were born was “Sentimental Journey”, apparently. It fits him perfectly, since his family is very sentimental.

My hit song was some obscure Nelson Riddle song. I was born into obscurity, coming from a family where being the youngest and the only girl put me at the bottom of the totem pole.

I remember many years ago finding a card to my parents congratulating them on the girl they hoped for and being in shock. Were they disappointed when, after-the-fact, they realized I was an introvert? Introverts, after all, aren’t really warm, cuddly, loveable types, they’re independent. Was I born that way, or did I evolve into it?

To this day, I tend to be the quiet person in the background, listening. I have no desire for attention or recognition, I like being obscure. When I die, maybe there will be a teenty tiny corner of the world that’s been made just a little bit better because I lived. Maybe not, who knows what sort of impact to the scheme of the Universe an obscure life makes.

Maybe most of the world lives in obscurity and I’m just one cell in the organism of life on Earth, in which case it doesn’t really matter whether my life made an impact. Did my life make a difference? Doesn’t matter.

I often look at my mutt rescue Pup and wonder, “How is it that people could possibly think that a $3000 dog would be better than you?”

Maybe the best things in life live in obscurity.


Written in response to today’s WordPress Daily Prompt  Your Number One : What was the #1 song when you were born? (not sure? you can find out here.) Write about how the song relates (or not!) to your personality.  Thanks for the fun prompt suggestion, Steve

Living in Obscurity

8 thoughts on “Living in Obscurity

Leave a Reply

