Be Thankful


You know, I’ve gotten into a bad habit lately of reading the news first thing in the morning, and then the haunting images of homeless and dying migrants follow me around as I try to pretend I live in a bubble.

My first response to today’s prompt was, yeh, I’ll have Hubby sneak in a bunch of those yummy disposable marijuana vape pens and spend the month having a good ol’ time.

My second response was, I’ll sit around banging my head on the walls as I try to pass every second sick, bored, and feeling unloved.

My third response is, I’ll suck it up and be thankful I have a bed, roof over my head, food, and a home and family to go back to when it’s all over with.

I hope I never forget how fortunate I am.


Written in response to today’s WordPress Daily Prompt Inside the Bubble :
A contagious disease requires you to be put into quarantine for a whole month (don’t worry, you get well by the time you’re free to go!). How would you spend your time in isolation? Thanks for suggesting this prompt, Priceless Joy!

Be Thankful

8 thoughts on “Be Thankful

  1. I struggle with this as well… The news is so horribly depressing lately that I sometimes picture myself sticking my head in the sand, ostrich style (which they apparently don’t do in real life, but that’s a different story… 😛 ).
    On the other hand, indifference is such a horrible state to be in and something I try to avoid. You definitely need to dose the amount of nasty you let in though to prevent it from eating you up…
    Thankfulness is a great start. Thank you for reminding me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dhammic Writer says:

    First world problems is that we get to read about other people’s problems first thing in the morning :).

    I personally don’t read the news until after I’ve done my morning meditation and taken the dog for his walk. Helps put things in perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

