Meandering Babbling


Lately it feels like I’m wandering around lost with my blog. My Ativan reduction has sobered me up to the point where I feel like my blog is getting bloated with too many topics unrelated to creative writing.

What do I feel like blogging about? Well, pot, I guess, news, and various observations that hit me during my daily routine which consists of my dog, yoga, and meditation.

It’s been a chore to come up with creative stuff. I think that’s my clue that my mind is guiding me towards doing something different. I’m not sure how much of my different mind is associated with Ativan withdrawal, since theoretically the withdrawal takes several months. I don’t FEEL sick at all, just very sober and serious.

In an effort to align my writing with my head, I’ve been thinking all morning about how to change the focus of my blogging.

Other people must reach a sort of stagnation with blogging. I wonder how they handle it. Create a new blog with a fresh new outlook? Stop blogging?

In the past, I’ve just stopped blogging. But I loved the period of daily flash fiction I was doing, and hope to get back to it one day as my primary activity. The amusement of coming up with different plots and characters filled my life with laughter and fantasy. I so miss that.

Dunno, I really think I’m going through an adjustment and that I need to be patient with myself. I’m considering creating a new blog with just serious stuff so I can get serious writing out of my system for the present. Or maybe get back to gaming, where I can do fun real-time creative writing. Being able to bounce dialog off of other people is a tremendous writing boost and laughter generator. Gaming comes with its own baggage of time commitments, stress, and (bad) drama, though, so I’m very VERY ambivalent about doing it.

So… I used to spend my entire afternoon and evening working on my flash fiction stories. Now I spend that time reading the NY Times and then wondering where my sense of humor’s disappeared to.  Oh…  hm…


Written in response to Daily Ritual : Think about your day. Select one of your daily rituals and explain it to us: why do you do what you do? How did you come to adopt this ritual? What happens on days when you can’t perform it? Thanks for sending this prompt suggestion, kimscaravelli!

Meandering Babbling

16 thoughts on “Meandering Babbling

  1. I have enjoyed reading your blog- even when I swore off blogging myself. WHat happened to me was a coming together of situations. My cognitive functioning was becoming a struggle. My exhaustion was such that I would fall asleep after one sentence , l;eft with rows of ssssssssssssssssssssss or mmmmmmmmmmmmm. But there was my disgust with how much time I could spend in the computer. ANd lastly I became tired of hearing my own “voice” to the point that I let myself shut down when it came to writing. Please don’t stop blogging unless you are done with it for the future as well. I have had the worst time looking as the blank screen. Not everyone is like me (thankfully). But change can be good so consider taking it in another direction. Something mayb uncomfortable for you.. But make it what you want to dive in headfirst so you’re emmersed initially. May help you stay focused.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for this. Yes, I know exactly what you mean about being tired of hearing your own voice. Your advice is very thoughtful and gives me something to think carefully about. Thank you again!

      Like

  2. I can relate to a lot of what you are writing about in this posting and your previous. You’re not babbling or rambling, or if you are, the so am I. I think you are writing about real experiences that linger and are hard to identify. What do I know? I do know I am enjoying your blog a lot! Peace, Harlon

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry you’re having such difficulty writing.
    I’d like to think this is a phase you’re going thru because what I call “happy pills” – I take clonazepam which is the same family of meds – are being taken away. I’ve also had a similar experience when I was started on a few different anti-depressants and felt my personality dull or disappear.
    Hopefully once your brain and body chemistry get balanced the funny, lighthearted writer that lives in you will make a grand return 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dhammic Writer says:

    I recently had a period where I stopped writing in my blog because for a couple of weeks because it felt like I was stagnating and merely writing variations of the same old stuff day after day. Then I realised that although it doesn’t sound or read very glamorously, that’s actually what I need to be doing right now as I try and make my way out of the mire I find myself in.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

