Cliffhanger, New England Fall, Killer Rabbits, and the World Crisis


This prompt reminds me of the most agonizing scene I’ve ever seen in a movie. Have you ever seen “Cliffhanger” with Sylvester Stallone? At the very beginning of the movie some climbers are crossing a chasm by rope and pulley. A woman is hanging on the pulley when her harness starts to come off. She screams, “I DON’T WANT TO DIE, I DON’T WANT TO DIE, PLEASE DON’T LET ME DIE!” Oh man, talk about a heart-thumping scene. I won’t tell you if she lived or not, let me just say I don’t particularly recommend watching the movie, because that scene will haunt your nightmares I promise you.

In New England, there’s a default topic of conversation that works every time, and that’s the weather. That’s why I talk about it all the time. So for all you New Englanders, it’s 65 degrees F here in Central Massachusetts. The fall winds are here, and the humidity is down to 64. I even saw a gorgeous brilliant red maple leaf yesterday in the back yard. All of New England lives for fall. Winter, spring, and summer all have their spectacular treasures, but also come with spectacular annoyances. Fall hardly ever comes with surprises. It’s cool, windy, and sometimes a bit stormy, with sometimes a tiny bit of snow, but in general fall is about as predictable as New England weather gets.

So in celebration of fall and Hubby’s day off, we’re going to hike the local ski mountain again. I can already tell that today will be a chilly hike. For a 2006-foot mountain it’s awfully windy on the summit. The winds are fantastic in the heat of the summer, but the rest of the year they’re blustery and piercingly cold.

Oh oh oh, and I wrote a couple of flash fiction stories last night! At the end of the post that I wrote the other day, I said that I was spending all afternoon and evening reading the NY Times. After I read that post, I thought, could there be a correlation between that and my lack of creativity? So I’ve been dedicating more time to storywriting instead of depressing myself reading about the plight of the world. It’s good to stay in touch with what’s happening, but bad if you let it control your mental well being.

One of the stories I wrote was about a killer rabbit that kicks a man off a cliff. Pretty compelling plot, eh? Oh well, I’m not THERE yet, but at least my brain is willing to try.

Call it a world crisis, call it the miracle of the Internet bringing the world together, call it the catastrophe that extremism with different faces and ideologies creates. All is anything-but-well with the world at the moment. I do concede that all may have been well with the world… 1.5 million years ago, who knows. What’s causing all of the stuff that’s going on now, though?  Technology?  Overpopulation?  Power?   Greed?  Hatred?  Ignorance?  All of the above?  When we look back at this time in history, I seriously doubt we will say, “…and all was well with the world.”


Written in response to No Cliffhangers : Write a post about the topic of your choice, in whatever style you want, but make sure to end it with “…and all was well with the world.” Thanks, Timothy Baldwin, for the prompt suggestion!

Cliffhanger, New England Fall, Killer Rabbits, and the World Crisis

2 thoughts on “Cliffhanger, New England Fall, Killer Rabbits, and the World Crisis

Leave a Reply

