Hiking, Kids, and Disappearing Enemies


Yesterday we hiked up the local ski mountain. Of course it was really windy and cold. It was so windy in fact that the birdwatchers, watching for Broad Winged Hawk migration, didn’t see a single hawk (The expectation was that by now they would be migrating in the thousands.). The hawks don’t flap their wings, but cruise the air currents. When the air currents are against their travel path, they get blown off course and can’t reach their migration route.

It turns out, Broad Winged Hawks fly down the East Coast, across the Southern states, and then down to the rainforests of South America for the winter where they can find frogs and other amphibious creatures. How miraculous is life on Earth!

I think if I had to live my life over again I’d become a zoologist, biologist, or ethologist of some sort. I wonder why I didn’t pursue my love of animals as a child. I have always had a tight connection with dogs. Even as a child, when we visited people with dogs I made it my singular goal to ignore the human goings-on and befriend the dogs.

Anyway, this all segues into the man and his son that I met on the trail. They were visiting from Argentina. For some reason, this beautiful 7-year-old boy latched onto me. Kids rarely talk to me, probably because I don’t have that air of being a kid-person that a parent or teacher would have. So when a kid DOES pay attention to me, I suck up the attention and have a grand old time. In the 1/4 mile or so that we walked together, I had so much fun talking to both the kid and the man (presumably the father or grandfather). By the time we got to our cars, it was as though we were best friends. Hubby wrote down the name of the hotel the man owned in Argentina, and as we parted, the kid and I waved to each other like giggly buddies. This kid charming my heart was the highlight of my day!

So… I’m an introvert. But, no, I don’t love this about myself. It limits what I can do comfortably with regards to socializing.

Um, here’s something that most people don’t know about me. I don’t have enemies (that I know of — brothers don’t count cause they’re family and by definition loved and forgiven by me at all times.). I would if I had a good memory I think, but 30 seconds after getting into a fight or deciding I don’t like someone, I forget who they are. I’ve always been this way. My brain apparently has no interest in remembering who I’m supposed to be mad at, so I’m forced to like (mostly) everyone.

I might be over-dramatizing this a bit.  It’s somewhat accurate, though.  Harboring resentment or bitterness isn’t something I do well.  More important stuff in my brain pushes that sort of thing out.  It’s a mystery to me how some people can have the capacity to harbor all kinds of negativity.  How do their brains make room for stuff like paying bills and running a household?


Written in response to today’s WordPress Daily Prompt These Horns Were Made for Tooting : Today, share something you love about yourself — don’t be shy, be confident! — but that few other people know about you or get to see very often. Thanks for suggesting this prompt, best4673!

Hiking, Kids, and Disappearing Enemies

3 thoughts on “Hiking, Kids, and Disappearing Enemies

  1. I’m glad you had such a great time on your hike. We never know when we’ll make a connection that increases our joy.
    You ended this with such an important question. I unfortunately have the kind of brain that rarely forgets anything. Because my brain works this way the only way I can protect myself from harbouring resentment or bitterness is by limiting my contact with people who hurt me deeply. However, if I love or care for you enough I will do the work to “get over” the transgression so I can keep a person in my life but it’s hard work to push the memories away.
    I wish I could be more like you in this regard or better yet it would be great to be friends in the real world so it would be guaranteed I’d have someone in my life who would never be mad at me for long 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m never mad for long, but my problem is that I’m such an introvert, people often are hurt by my (inadvertent) need to have time alone.

      People are fundamentally good. I’ve learned that it’s next to impossible to judge a book by its cover. Time and non judgement gives people room to let their guard down, and that’s when you see their goodness.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

