Daily Prompt: Waiting for Marriage


Waiting Room
Daily Prompt: “Good things come to those who wait.” Do you agree? How long is it reasonable to wait for something you really want?

I was 37 years old before I found the right person to marry.  Looking back on other marriages that have fallen apart and how negatively they affected both lives, that was the right decision for me since I don’t love easily.  I gave up being able to have a child because I waited so long.  Fertility treatments failed, and a month before we were to receive an adopted baby, I was diagnosed with breast cancer, so I gave up being a mother to have a good marriage.  It was worth the price.  My husband gives me the freedom to be me and to do my own searching in my own way without any judgment.  Our household is peaceful and harmonious.  Without that, I don’t think I would ever have a prayer of healing.

That’s the longest I’ve waited for something, and it was worth it.

There are very few things otherwise I really want enough to do this sort of waiting for.  “Things” are just “things” and not that important to me.  But maybe it’s because I already have my basic needs met, and don’t really need or want anything.

Daily Prompt: Waiting for Marriage

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Waiting for Marriage

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.